Robotic Training Network

Robotic Training Network


Fill out the form to receive information about starting the RTN program.

  • Fields marked with an * are required

The vision of the Robotic Training Network (RTN) is to standardize the robotic surgical curriculum and education for residents/fellows-in-training (OBGYN and SURGERY) through the development of a collaborative network. If you would like to register your facility, please click on a button below for more information.

RTN was founded by nine institutions that had a common vision to design a standardized approach to teach basic robotic surgical skills in a stepwise fashion to trainees throughout Graduate Medical Education training programs. The founding group included:

  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
  • Celebration Hospital Florida
  • Cleveland Clinic
  • Duke University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Lehigh Valley Health Network
  • Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
  • University of North Carolina
  • Wright State University

Over the last several years, over 60 ACGME approved residency/fellowship training programs have been collaborating as part of the Robotic Training Network with a mission to develop an educational curriculum to teach the basic principles of robotic surgery. RTN is now managed by the Institute for Surgical Excellence (ISE). Please see the next section to learn about ISE.

RTN Training Modules

RTN Modules

The Robotic Training Network Education and Training Course contains 9 modules. The modules must be completed in order, and each module has interactive content and questions. Once all 9 modules are completed the trainee will receive a certificate.

  • Module 1: Overview
  • Module 2: Pre-test
  • Module 3: Background Knowledge
  • Module 4: Post-test
  • Module 5: Introduction to the Robotic System
  • Module 6: Bedside Assistant
  • Module 7: Console Surgeon
  • Module 8: Team Training and Communication
  • Module 9: Specialty-specific Education and Training
Next Article