Our Mission

The Institute for Surgical Excellence (ISE) is a 501(c)(3) public charity, whose mission is to create lasting solutions for complex healthcare problems related to emerging technologies, with the ultimate goal to improve patient care and outcomes. ISE utilizes a systems-based approach (collective impact model) to bring together key stakeholders from a variety of sectors to identify issues, set clearly defined goals, facilitate collaboration, determine and fill gaps, and better inform health care consumers.


Dr. Martin Martino

Board Member

Dr. John R. Porterfield

Board Member

Dr. Carla Pugh

Board Member

Dr. Dimitrios Stefanidis

Board Member

Jeffrey Levy, MD

Interim Executive Director


Nahigian Strategies


Eli Adashi, MD, MS, MA, (Ob/Gyn)
Richard Angelo, MD (Orthopedics)
Steven Brem, MD (Neurosurgery)
John Cahill, MD (Neonatology)
Bradley Champagne, MD (Colorectal)
Sanket Chauhan, MD (Urology)
Justin Collins, MD (Urology)
Michael J. Consuelos, MD (Pediatrics)
Amanda N. Fader, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Richard Feins, MD (Cardiothoracic)
Michael Ferrandino, MD (Urology)
Jeffrey M. Fowler, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Ahmed Ghazi, MD (Urology)
Isabel Green, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Gregory Kainz, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Kenneth Kim, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Mario Leitao, Jr., MD (Ob/Gyn)
Veronica Lerner, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Javier Magrina, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Roberto Manson, MD (Vascular)
Jorge Marcet, MD (Colorectal)
George L. Maxwell, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Gaby Moawad, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Owen Montgomery, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Erik D. Muther (Non-profit)
Vincent Obias, MD (Colorectal)
Robert Pedowitz, MD (Orthopedics)
Matthew A. Powell, MD (Ob/Gyn)
Seth Rosen, MD (Colorectal)
Andrew Ralston, Jr. (Legal)
Roger Smith, PhD (Research)
Paul Sobotka, MD (Cardiology)
Hooman Soltanian, MD (Plastic Surgery)
Howard Stevens (Legal)
Michael Stifelman, MD (Urology)
Robert Sweet, MD (Urology)
Ed Verrier, MD (Cardiothoracic)
Jason Wright, MD (Ob/Gyn)